Author Topic: Trust  (Read 482 times)

Bondo

• Objectively Awesome
Trust
« on: January 07, 2012, 10:45:28 PM »
Spoilers for Trust

There was no statutory rape in Trust, there was rape in Trust. Her age was ultimately irrelevant to the act. This for me was a big let-down of the film because it removes any moral ambiguity. If it had actually been statutory rape, that would have made it play out more interestingly.

*MORE SPOILERS*
I disagree that the film - and the act itself - is unambiguous.  As a lawyer, I can tell you that if Annie was an adult and a jury saw the only thing we see on screen, the state would have no case.  (Annie dresses up in skimpy underwear, sits next to Charley on the bed, and when he makes his move, the most she says is "Wait, Charley" and then she lies back and stares at the ceiling.  I dont' think that's intended to be cut and dry.  Moreover, the controversial "sex scenes" in the film are actually figments of the father's imagination we see later.)