love

Author Topic: Summer Film School is in Session  (Read 5236 times)

jensuch

• That's just, like, your opinion, man.
Summer Film School is in Session
« on: April 20, 2013, 11:18:11 PM »
I know it's not summertime yet, but I'm a teacher with no patience for May, so we're getting this thing going early.  I love contemporary/indie cinema, but am constantly shamed by the "classics" I haven't seen.  I'm going to try to hit a wide swath this summer--think Bergman, Kurosawa, Scorcese, etc...  Main resources are Hulu Plus (with most of the Criterion Collection) and Netflix streaming, although the public library could help, too. 

So far I've recently covered:
1. Blue, White, Red
2. The Long Goodbye
3. His Girl Friday
4. In the Mood for Love
5. Mulholland Drive

Yeah, 4 and 5 aren't "classics", but they were getting a lot of love in the recent Pantheon discussion.  And I've seen other classics, just not recently, so they're not included in the Summer Film School accomplishments. 

Directors or films I should cover?  I'll keep track of other accomplishments as the days lengthen. 

1SO

• FAB
  • Objectively Awesome
  • Marathon Man
Re: Summer Film School is in Session
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2013, 11:25:35 PM »
Look into Masaki Kobayashi. He's incredible and I believe his entire filmography is on Hulu+.

Also Francois Truffaut, who also has a lot of titles on Hulu+. The Antoine Doinel series makes for an excellent marathon.

jensuch

« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2013, 11:34:00 PM »
Thanks!  I've seen The 400 Blows, but none of the following films.  I'll check them out.

valmz

« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2013, 03:20:56 AM »